2 More Preds Draftees Named to All-Star Challenge

Tuesday, 10.27.2009 / 5:47 PM / News
OHL Announces Rosters for the 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series

Tuesday October 27, 2009 (Barrie, ON) – Nashville Predators 2009 draftees Ryan Ellis and Michael Latta were named to Team OHL for the 2009 SUBWAY Super Series. Last week fellow Preds '09 Draftees Gabriel Bourque and Charles-Olivier Roussel were named to Team QMJHL for the same event. Bourque, Ellis, Latta, and Roussel were four of Nashville's six Canadian-born draftees in the 2009 Entry Draft.

Team OHL will faceoff against Team Russia in games three and four of the series played Thursday November 19 in Barrie, ON, and on Monday November 23 in Windsor, ON. The first two games of the series are hosted by the QMJHL with the WHL hosting games five and six.

The Team OHL rosters were chosen by a selection committee that includes Al Murray, Head Scout of Canada’s Men’s National Teams, with OHL General Managers Jeff Twohey of the Peterborough Petes and Mark Hunter of the London Knights.

The 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series marks the seventh straight year that teams of CHL All-Stars have competed against Team Russia in preparation for the World Junior Hockey Championships. The SUBWAY® Super Series is an integral part of the evaluation process prior to Team Canada’s final selection camp in December. This season, Canada will be competing for a record sixth straight gold medal at the 2010 tournament in Saskatoon and Regina, SK.

“The players selected to play for Team OHL in the SUBWAY® Super Series have the chance to make a statement about playing for Team Canada at the World Junior Championships this season” said Dave Cameron of the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors, who will coach Team OHL and serve as an Associate Coach for Team Canada. “The pressures of this game against a talented Russian team will be a great opportunity for these players.”

The rosters consist of 33 players, nine of which are top prospects eligible for the 2010 NHL Entry Draft including OHL scoring leaders Taylor Hall of the Windsor Spitfires and Tyler Seguin of the Plymouth Whalers. Forward Stefan Della Rovere of the Barrie Colts and defenceman Ryan Ellis of the Windsor Spitfires represent the returning players from Team Canada’s 2009 gold medal winning team. In addition to Ellis, the rosters include 2009 first round selections Nazem Kadri of the London Knights, Calvin de Haan of the Oshawa Generals, Zack Kassian of the Peterborough Petes, and Peter Holland of the Guelph Storm. The rosters also include Tyler Cuma of the Ottawa 67’s and Greg Nemisz of the Windsor Spitfires who were both first round selections in the 2008 NHL Entry Draft.

The 2009 SUBWAY® Super Series is supported by associate sponsors, Bank of Montreal, NeilMed and CCM. All games will be broadcast nationally on Rogers Sportsnet with the QMJHL games shown on RDS.

For more information about the event and tickets please visit www.subwaysuperseries.com
Team OHL Roster – Barrie, ON – November 19, 2009
*Players competing in both games
Peter Di Salvo, Barrie Colts
Michael Hutchinson, London Knights*

Shawn Lalonde, Belleville Bulls*
Stephen Silas, Belleville Bulls
Matt Clark, Brampton Battalion
Erik Gudbranson, Kingston Frontenacs*
Calvin de Haan, Oshawa Generals*
Tyler Cuma, Ottawa 67’s
Mark Cundari, Windsor Spitfires
Ryan Ellis, Windsor Spitfires*

Stefan Della Rovere, Barrie Colts*
Peter Holland, Guelph Storm
Michael Latta, Guelph Storm
Ethan Werek, Kingston Frontenacs
Jeff Skinner, Kitchener Rangers
Nazem Kadri, London Knights*
Christian Thomas, Oshawa Generals
Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa 67’s*
Steven Shipley, Owen Sound Attack
Taylor Hall, Windsor Spitfires*
Adam Henrique, Windsor Spitfires*
Greg Nemisz, Windsor Spitfires*

Dave Cameron, Coach (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)
Steve Spott, Coach (Kitchener Rangers)
Marty Williamson, Assistant Coach (Barrie Colts)
Richard Rotenberg, Head Athletic Therapist (Barrie Colts)
Kevin Emo, Equipment Manager (Barrie Colts)

Team OHL Roster – Windsor, ON – November 23, 2009
Michael Hutchinson, London Knights*
Matt Hackett, Plymouth Whalers

Shawn Lalonde, Belleville Bulls*
Erik Gudbranson, Kingston Frontenacs*
Cameron Gaunce, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Calvin de Haan, Oshawa Generals*
T.J Brodie, Saginaw Spirit
Nick Crawford, Saginaw Spirit
Ryan Ellis, Windsor Spitfires*

Stefan Della Rovere, Barrie Colts*
Jason Akeson, Kitchener Rangers
Nazem Kadri, London Knights*
Zac Rinaldo, London Knights
Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa 67’s*
Zack Kassian, Peterborough Petes
Josh Brittain, Plymouth Whalers
Tyler Seguin, Plymouth Whalers
John McFarland, Sudbury Wolves
Eric O’Dell, Sudbury Wolves
Taylor Hall, Windsor Spitfires*
Adam Henrique, Windsor Spitfires*
Greg Nemisz, Windsor Spitfires*

Dave Cameron, Coach (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors)
Steve Spott, Coach (Kitchener Rangers)
Bob Boughner, Assistant Coach (Windsor Spitfires)
Joey Garland, Trainer (Windsor Spitfires)
Tyson Tatomir, Equipment Manager (Windsor Spitfires)

2009 SUBWAY® Super Series Schedule of Games:
Game 1 – Monday November 16 at Drummondville, QC
Game 2 – Wednesday November 18 at Shawinigan, QC
Game 3 – Thursday November 19 at Barrie, ON
Game 4 – Monday November 23 at Windsor, ON
Game 5 – Wednesday November 25 at Victoria, BC
Game 6 – Thursday November 26 at Kelowna, BC





1 z - ANA 82 54 20 8 266 209 116
2 y - COL 82 52 22 8 250 220 112
3 x - STL 82 52 23 7 248 191 111
4 x - SJS 82 51 22 9 249 200 111
5 x - CHI 82 46 21 15 267 220 107
6 x - LAK 82 46 28 8 206 174 100
7 x - MIN 82 43 27 12 207 206 98
8 x - DAL 82 40 31 11 235 228 91
9 PHX 82 37 30 15 216 231 89
10 NSH 82 38 32 12 216 242 88
11 WPG 82 37 35 10 227 237 84
12 VAN 82 36 35 11 196 223 83
13 CGY 82 35 40 7 209 241 77
14 EDM 82 29 44 9 203 270 67


S. Weber 79 23 33 -2 56
P. Hornqvist 76 22 31 1 53
C. Smith 79 24 28 16 52
M. Fisher 75 20 29 -4 49
R. Josi 72 13 27 -2 40
M. Cullen 77 10 29 4 39
C. Wilson 81 11 22 -1 33
N. Spaling 71 13 19 2 32
R. Ellis 80 6 21 9 27
G. Bourque 74 9 17 -5 26
C. Hutton 20 11 4 .910 2.62
D. Dubnyk 11 18 3 .891 3.43


nashvillepredators.com is the official Web site of the Nashville Predators and nashvillepredators.com are trademarks of the Nashville Predators.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 Nashville Predators and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

NHL Ticket Exchange | Bridgestone Arena | Contact Us | Employment | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map | AdChoices