Tennessee Amateur and Youth Hockey Team Spotlight: March 2008

Tuesday, 04.1.2008 / 8:18 PM CT / Community
Nashville Predators
Share with your Friends

Tennessee Amateur and Youth Hockey Team Spotlight: March 2008

Tennessee Amateur and Youth Hockey Team Spotlight

March 2008: Southern Ice Storm Mite Selects

The Southern Ice Storm Mite Select team is comprised of some of the top players ages 8-and-under from the Southern Ice House League that play at Southern Ice Arena in Franklin. Although they are part of an in-house youth program, during the 2007-2008 hockey season, the Southern Ice Mite Select team had the opportunity to compete in weekend games against teams from Huntsville, AL as well as participated in 2 different tournaments featuring teams from around the South and Midwest regions.

The Southern Ice Storm Mite Selects finished their season undefeated in regulation with their only loss coming in a shootout in the Finals of the Freedom Tournament in Huntsville, AL in January 2008. During the 17th Annual Country & Western Showdown Tournament held March 7-9, 2008 at Centennial Sportsplex in Nashville, the Southern Ice Storm Mite Selects defeated House Select and Travel division teams from Huntsville, AL, Duluth, GA and Atlanta, GA in the preliminaries and capped off the tournament with an overtime victory over the Nashville Warriors 6-5 to bring home the Country & Western Showdown Championship for their division! In addition to the tournament, the team competed in the Country & Western Showdown Olympics. This skills competition involved all tournament players and again the Storm Mite Selects had a great showing as they brought home the gold medal in that event as well.

The Southern Ice Storm Mite Select Team had a great season and enjoyed developing together as a team, they look forward to the 2008-2009 hockey season!

Southern Ice Storm Mite Select Team Roster
# Player - Position
1 Noah Wamble - G
4 Grant Glass - F
6 Connor Tidwell - F/D
7 Clay Lamb  - D
8 Braiden Dorfman - F
9 Connor Merrill - D
10 Sean Hagan - F
11 Cameron Tucker - F
14 Marley Symmonds  - G
18 Canyon Wheeler - F
19 Dylan McKenzie - F
19 Ridge Powers - F/D
21 Matthew Vandawater - D
26 Aidyn Sullivan - F
44 Zack Martin - F
Head Coach Brian Dorfman
Asst. Coach Tim McAllister
Asst. Coach Tony Wheeler

Click here for past winners

NashvillePredators.com is the official Web site of the Nashville Predators and NashvillePredators.com are trademarks of the Nashville Predators.  NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2015 Nashville Predators and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

NHL Ticket Exchange | Bridgestone Arena | Contact Us | Employment | NHL.com Terms of Use | Site Map | AdChoices